Explore Study logo
halal food

What is halal Food? Benefits, Diet, Examples [Complete Guide]

The Arabic term halal means “permissible.” In terms of eating, it refers to food that is allowed under Islamic law. It is the only form of meat that observant Muslims are allowed to eat. For this religious group, the Halal classification for meat is a fundamental notion and belief. It is related to eating, and things that are not approved are referred to as haram.

To be certified halal, meat cannot come from a prohibited cut (such as hindquarters) or animal (such as a pig), and it must be killed in a particular manner. Many Muslims find purchasing at a local halal market easy since all items are labeled halal.

In today’s multicultural society, it is essential to understand the various dietary customs Americans use. It is becoming increasingly vital for food service managers. As the United States population grows in size and diversity, religious dietary restrictions such as kosher and halal are becoming more popular. 

In North America, the market for kosher food has grown by 15% each year over the previous decade. Similarly, the demand for halal cuisine is increasing. From 2016 to 2021, the North American halal foods and drinks industry grew by approximately USD 8.7 billion (Businesswire, 2023). 

From 2021 to 2026, the halal food marketplace in the United States will rise to USD 9.33 billion, with a CAGR of 5.62% (Technavio, 2023). Strict limits and rules control these two types of diets, outlining what foods a person may and cannot eat. As well as how they should be cooked. Each diet will be investigated in further detail to assist in comprehending these religious practices. 

Kosher Food Rules

When food satisfies the nutritional criteria specified by kashrut or Jewish law, it is kosher and suitable for consumption by individuals adhering to those prohibitions. A kosher supervisor’s responsibility is to guarantee that the food is kosher. It stays kosher after cooking or processing. A kosher emblem on a food product indicates that it has been certified kosher by an agency. 

Kosher cuisine is classified as either meat, dairy, or pareve (neither meat nor dairy). Kosher animals chew their cud, have cloven hooves, and are disease-free. These limits also apply to animal meat, organs, milk, and byproducts. Domesticated poultry is permitted. Seafood with fins and scales is also allowed. 

According to Jewish law, meat and dairy items cannot be mixed or eaten at the same meal. Many individuals wait three to six hours after eating a meat-containing meal before consuming dairy products. Since pareve foods do not include meat or dairy, they can be finished with either. 

Fish cannot be served in the same dish as meat but can be eaten simultaneously.

Examples of prohibited foods include

  • Reptiles, amphibians, and insects, as well as pork
  • Shellfish (including lobster, oysters, and mussels), shrimp, and scallops are examples of seafood.  
  • Animal goods or byproducts derived from any uncertified animal 

What is a Halal Diet?

Halal foods are defined under Islamic dietary regulations. Halal foods are legal. It can be consumed by Muslims who follow Islamic rules. Muslims are not allowed to ingest Haram or prohibited foods or beverages. Foods with halal marks on their packaging have been authorized and verified by an agency to be free of banned elements or ingredients. The name of the certifying authority must be on the nutrition label or packaging for halal claims.

History of Halal Food 

In the Islamic religion, there is said to be one continuous guideline among what is deemed halal food and drink. What is the rule? There are no absolutes. Halal has been debated and amended worldwide in response to the ever-changing Islamic beliefs. The definition of halal is derived from the Quran, which defines halal and haram. 

However, the passages detailing these two concepts could be more precise, leaving much to judgment. Due to the ambiguity, many Muslim academics and leaders have resorted to hadiths, or sayings of the prophet Muhammad, to assist them in understanding what is halal and haram. 

The dietary and slaughter limitations of Halal are sometimes likened to Jewish customs. Both practices have certain parallels, but they also have some variances. For example, both Muslim and Jewish traditions forbid the consumption of blood and swine, but cattle are permitted. In terms of contrasts, Jewish regulations are more stringent, particularly when it comes to slaughter, preparation, and eating. 

Several Jewish Orthodox people do not believe halal meat to be kosher, although Muslims do. According to Jewish law, the animal must be slaughtered for sustenance by a trained and observant male Jew. There are several additional parallels and variations between the two civilizations. However, the most noteworthy similarities are the treatment of the animals slain and the types of meat that can be fed. 

Meanwhile, America has not historically catered to other cultures’ culinary and nutritional demands. Many bigger U.S. cities have embraced diverse halal items to serve their rising Muslim communities. People may even use databases and programs to locate local halal items and eateries.

Halal Food Examples

There are several instances of halal cuisine and only a handful of haram food. Haram foods include pork and prey animals, which include lions and falcons that hunt with their teeth or claws. Alcohol is likewise haram, and its usage is forbidden in Islam. 

While some Muslims think that avoiding pork, pig land, and alcohol is sufficient to be deemed halal, other individuals believe that meat must be killed according to Islam and labels must be verified for haram components. 

Halal cuisine cannot contain components sourced from haram materials. Using utensils and equipment that have not been polluted with haram materials is also necessary. If that requirement is satisfied, the following food and beverage products are halal: 

  • Seafood, such as fish
  • Products made from bread
  • Frostings and other pastry items 
  • Cakes and pastries are examples of desserts. 
  • Cereals, including organic and natural morning cereals
  • Pasta
  • Drink mixtures and whipped toppings made from milk 
  • Milk is permissible as long as it comes from a halal source. 
  • Cheese and cheese-related products
  • Eggs 
  • Ice cream 
  • Coffee and tea mixtures 
  • Seasonings
  • Both fresh and dried fruits
  • Honey 
  • Syrup
  • Jellies and jams 
  • Nuts 
  • Legumes 
  • The peanut butter
  • Pizzas, as long as they contain halal meats and veggies. 
  • Frozen and fresh vegetables 
  • French fries and other potato products
  • Sauces and salad dressing
  • Soups and soup ingredients

How Do You Prepare Halal Food? 

Before producing halal food, specific steps must be taken to guarantee that halal requirements are fulfilled. It involves the following: 

  • Make sure to clean every surface where food will be cooked, as well as the glasses, crockery, and serving dishes.
  • Halal meat requires its own cutting board, prep space, and knife. 
  • All objects used to prepare halal meals should be carefully cleaned before each meal. 
  • Separate containers should be used for halal and non-halal meat.
  • Halal and non-halal meat should never be cooked together. 
  • When cooking meat, it is recommended to arrange halal meat on the upper rack and non-halal beef on the lower shelf. 
  • To minimize misunderstanding, serve halal and non-halal meat separately. 
  • If you want to prevent confusion, halal meat should be appropriately recognized. 
  • Serving utensils for halal and non-halal meats should be kept separate. 
  • Fried dishes should only be made with vegetable oil. 
  • Salads should only have halal cheese and meat. 
  • Use only margarine and vegetable oils for making cakes, cookies, and other sweets.

These instructions will assist you in preparing a halal-friendly dinner befitting Muslim culture.

How Ubiquitous is Halal in the United Kingdom?

Halal lamb is available at various retailers, including Marks & Spencer, Tesco, Morrisons, and the Co-op. According to the retailer, some Waitrose lamb items have a Halal blessing but are not sold separately and hence are not deemed halal on the shelves. The Sun tabloid sparked outrage after revealing on the main page that all chicken served at Pizza Express was halal and consumers were not informed.

According to the HFA, 15% of the meat killed in the UK is halal.

Sum Up

The high quality of Halal food and other items draws customers from all around the world. Anyone can eat ‘Halal’ and live a ‘Halal’ lifestyle, regardless of faith, gender, ethnicity, nationality, race, or age. “Halal” in the food and beverage industry means anything acceptable for eating. If it is used in connection to animal flesh, it signifies that any animal slaughtered in line with Shariah law is Halal (lawful) to ingest.

1 thought on “What is halal Food? Benefits, Diet, Examples [Complete Guide]”

  1. Pingback: What is Haram in Islam? Definition, Food, Lifestyle, Facts - Explore Study

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *